Count on our counsel to champion your case!

Pearland Car Accident Attorney Discusses Auto Insurance Laws & Minimums

Latest News

Texas, like most states, requires its drivers to hold insurance policies on their vehicles. This law is designed to protect drivers, vehicles, and pedestrians involved in a Texas car accident. If you are pulled over or involved in a car accident and your insurance does not meet Texas auto insurance laws or minimums, you may face a steep fine, could lose your license, your vehicle may be impounded, or you could even face jail time. That is why it is imperative that drivers in the state are aware of the state insurance laws and are in compliance with them at all times.

Texas Auto Insurance Laws & Minimums

Texas requires all drivers carry liability insurance, which covers repairs of the other party’s car, as well as any medical costs due to injuries when you are at-fault in a Texas car accident.

As of August 2011, the current minimum coverage amount is 30/60/25 for every driver in the state. This means your insurance policy must allot for $30,000 in coverage per injured person, up to $60,000 per auto accident, and $25,000 for property damage per car accident.

Unfortunately, liability does not cover the cost of your own car repairs or injuries when you are at-fault in an accident, so you may consider purchasing additional insurance coverage. Good options for this type of protection include collision, comprehensive and medical payments coverage.

Some find themselves in a car accident in which the other party does not have enough insurance coverage to pay for all the damages and costs incurred from the accident. This is when it would be wise to carry  unisured and  underinsured motorist coverage, which protects you from paying for damages caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver. Though it is not required by state auto insurance law, it may be helpful in certain situations.

In the event of a serious auto accident with a driver who does not have the required insurance to cover for the injuries and damages you have endured, seek a personal injury lawyer at the Kahn Law Firm: 713-999-6549 or toll-free at 1-844-301-KAHN.

Related Articles

Should I Give A Recorded Statement To The Insurance Company?

Read More

How Are Claims For Dog Bites Compensated? Who Pays?

Read More

A Pearland Lawyer Can Help If You’re Suffering With Drug Injury In Texas (Part A)

Read More