Penalties for Violation of Texas Auto Insurance Laws
Texascitizens may face several instances in which they are required to show proof of auto insurance, as well as a state-issued driver’s license. This includes when you are involved in a Texas car accident
, when you are pulled over by a state police officer for a traffic or other violation, when you renew your car’s registration, or when you have your vehicle inspected (this is required annually in Texas.) If at any of these times you are found not in compliance with minimum car insurance requirements, you could face serious penalties.
The penalties for violating Texas’ auto insurance laws and minimum requirements include the following:
- A $175 to $300 fine on the first offense;
- A $350 to $1,000 fine on all subsequent offenses;
- The suspension of your driver’s license and impounding of your vehicle on subsequent offenses;
- A $2,000 fine, up to 180 days in jail, or both, if you fail to present a driver’s license at the time of the offense; or
- A $4,000 maximum fine, up to a year in jail, or both, if you are at-fault in a car accident that results in severe injury or fatality.
The law clearly takes insurance requirements seriously, as should you if you have been seriously injured in an accident involving an uninsured or underinsured motorist.
If you are involved or injured in a Texas car accident in which the other driver has violated Texas auto insurance laws or minimum requirements, you may have a viable personal injury lawsuit
on your hands and may be eligible for compensation for damages, repairs, and medical costs.
Contact a personal injury attorney at The Kahn Law Firm to ensure you receive compensation for the medical bills, damages, and repairs resulting from the accident. Call 713-999-6549 or toll-free at 1-844-301-KAHN to begin discussing your case today.