What Are The Penalties For Driving While Intoxicated (Dwi)– Second Offense And Beyond? A Houston Dwi Lawyer Explains
If you’ve been arrested for a second Texas DWI, you will be facing significantly harsher potential penalties if you’re found guilty than you would for a first time offense. When arrested drivers ask “What are the penalties for driving while intoxicated (DWI)?” the answer often hinges on whether or not it’s a first time offense and whether or not anybody was injured.
In the event that nobody was injured, second DWI offenders may face a Class A misdemeanor charge with a fine of up to $4,000, a jail term of not less than 72 hours and not more than 1 year, between 80 hours and 200 hours of community service, a deep lung device installed in your vehicle during your probationary period, and a suspension of your license of at least 180 days and not longer than 2 years.
Third-time offenders face even greater penalties, including a fine of $10,000 and a jail term of 2 to 10 years. The community service requirement is also bumped up to 160 to 600 hours and is automatically a third degree felony, as opposed to a misdemeanor.
Subsequent offenders will also be charged as a felony, but which level of felony will depend on how many prior felony convictions you have on your record.
If you have been arrested for a Texas DWI, reach out to a Houston DWI lawyer who will fight to protect your rights and get you the most lenient possible sentence, in addition to attacking the prosecution’s case against you by gathering evidence, witness testimony, and analyzing the context in which you were charged.
If you’ve been charged with a Texas DWI, schedule a no-cost, no-obligation consultation with a Houston DWI lawyer and receive a free evaluation of your case. The sooner that you involve an attorney in your case, the better your chances are in having your charges minimized or outright dismissed. Contact the Houston DWI lawyer team at the Kahn Law Firm today. 713-999-6549