In Texas, there are two types of categories for punishment: misdemeanors and felonies. The ranges of punishments listed below are for first time offenders. If an individual has been convicted of a crime in the past, the punishment may be enhanced to a more severe range. Additionally, the list below does not include crime specific punishments which can alter the standard range of punishments. These are the statutory mandated punishment ranges and are meant as a guide to the ranges of punishment one can receive.
Misdemeanor Punishment Ranges
|Misdemeanor Class||Confinement||Optional Fine|
|Class C||None||up to $500.00|
|Class B||Up to 180 days in county jail||up to $2,000.00|
|Class A||Up to 1 year in county jail||up to $4,000.00|
Felony Punishment Ranges
|Felony Degrees||Confinement||Optional Fine|
|State Jail||180 days to 2 years in state jail||up to $10,000.00|
|3rd Degree||2 to 10 years in TDC||up to $10,000.00|
|2nd Degree||2 to 20 years in TDC||up to $10,000.00|
|1st Degree||5 to 99 years or life in TDC||up to $10,000.00|
|Capital Murder||Death or life in prison without parole||None|
The exact language of the laws dealing with punishment and further details can be found in chapter 12 of the Texas Penal Code. None of this information can take place of the information, knowledge, and expertise provided from a licensed attorney. Contact the Pearland criminal defense lawyers at The Kahn Law Firm for a free, confidential consultation at 713-226-9900 or toll-free at 1-844-301-KAHN.