If your child has been charged for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Texas, you should speak with a juvenile criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. A Houston juvenile defense attorney understands the laws that come with this charge and can help offset the immediate and long-term costs associated with this offense.
A DUI charge in Texas is applied only to minors found driving with any detectible amount of alcohol in their system. This differs from the more serious charge of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), which concerns adult drivers, and in some cases minors as well, who have exceeded the legal blood alcohol limit.
If your child is convicted of DUI in Texas, he or she may be subject to the following:
- a fine up to $500 for a first offense;
- mandatory attendance to alcohol awareness course, costing $50 or more; and
- driver license suspension, with a reinstatement fee of $125.
Bear in mind there are other costs involved that will vary depending on your particular case like:
- lost wages because of attending court proceedings;
- higher insurance premiums;
- legal fees, court costs; and
- probation fees.
Since a DUI conviction stays on your record forever, it could affect your future employment, education, and other life-opportunities as well, which is why it is imperative that you seek legal counsel to support you, if you believe you were wrongfully charged.
Contacting a Houston-Area DUI Lawyer
Serving the Greater Houston Area, the Kahn Law Firm is a dedicated husband and wife team specializing in the practice areas of personal injury and criminal defense. Advocating for those charged with alcohol-related offenses like DUI and DWI, the Kahn Law Firm's attorneys are experts on the how field sobriety tests should be administered and evaluated. For a free consultation, call today – 713-226-9900 or toll-free at 1-844-301-KAHN.