When you are charged with a DWI, the punishment that you may be facing in the future can range from fines, community service, suspended license, and even jail time. If you believe you have been wrongfully convicted for a DWI charge, a lawyer in Texas from the Kahn Law Firm can support you throughout your case to help secure your future.
THE TEXAS DWI LAW
In Texas, driving while intoxicated (DWI) is the charge of operating a motor vehicle while having the lost of their use of their normal mental and physical facilities due to alcohol or drugs or with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more.
Minors may also be charged with driving under the influence (DUI). The law does not require much by way of proof; an officer can simply smell it on your breath, or ask you to perform a sobriety test. Considering this, it is best to practice your right of remaining silent, until you get in touch with an attorney.
DWI CONVICTION PUNISHMENT
If your BAC is over 0.08 or the officer believes you are intoxicated based on field sobriety tests, you may be charged with DWI, which carries stiff penalties. A first offense carries the following penalties:
- A maximum fine of $2000.
- A minimum of 3 days and a maximum of 180 days of jail time.
- Driver license suspension between 90 days to 1 year.
Being charged with a DWI can have a serious affect on your future. Especially if you believe that your charge is unfair, or otherwise handled unprofessionally by authorities, which resulted in an inaccurate account of DWI, it is highly advised to obtain legal counsel on your side by contacting a DWI lawyer in Texas at the Kahn Law Firm at 713-226-9900 or toll-free at 1-844-301-KAHN.